Five unions in 6 tertiary institutions in Oyo State suspend 3 months strike

The five unions in the six Oyo State Government-owned tertiary institutions have suspended their three month old strike. The suspension was announced by the unions at their various congresses held across the institutions yesterday.

The institutions are The Polytechnic, Ibadan; Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa; Oke-Ogun Polytechnic, Saki; Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo; Oyo State College of Education, Lanlate; and Oyo State College of Agriculture and Technology, Igboora.

The Chairman, Joint Action Committee of the unions, Mr Babatunde Adeniyi, said that the strike was suspended following the resolutions of the Governing Council chairmen of the six institutions. Mr Adeniyi said that the chairmen had resolved to restore the payment of 100 percent salary of workers from January.

In his reactions, the Provost, Oyo State College of Agriculture and Technology, Igboora (OYSCATECH), Professor Gbemiga Adewale, thanked the unions for their understanding.