African countries sign agreement establishing continental free trade area

African countries today signed an agreement establishing the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) in Kigali, capital city of Rwanda. The signing took place during the 10th Extraordinary Session of the Assembly of the African Union (AU) on the AfCFTA. Chairperson of AU Commission Moussa Mahamat was handed over the legal instruments signed by 40 African countries at the signing ceremony.

After the signing, the agreement will be submitted for ratification by state parties of the agreement in accordance with their domestic laws. Experts said African regional integration will help enhance economic development.